Swiss Protein & Fiber

Sustainable Upcycling –
The Power of Circularity

What we do

Reintroducing barley to the food industry

Our innovative solution transforms side streams of the brewing industry into valuable raw materials to supply the ever-growing demand for healthy and sustainable plant-based alternatives.

In other words, we save barley grains from the brewing process to produce protein and fiber products for a wide variety of applications in the food industry. This promotes the transition towards a sustainable and circular food economy.

Upcycling

Balance through resource efficiency

At Sustainable Ingredients, we strive for a world in which food waste and pollution is minimized. Our upcycling technology enables us to produce with a 60% lower environmental impact than conventional alternatives such as soy or pea protein.

Our unique mechanical separation and drying process handles the barley with care to extract all valuable properties. Our gentle, efficient, and eco-friendly methods valorize residuals into usable goods at an unparalleled standard.

Our Products

Swiss Made - Swiss Quality

Barley Protein

Protein content of 45% with a pleasant neutral taste.

Barley Fiber

Fiber concentration of 70%, highly functional and water-binding.

Barley Flour

Protein and fiber-rich flour with a minimum of carbohydrates.

Partners

Value through network

«Thanks to the partnership with Sustainable Ingredients, we will be the first brewery in Europe or even the world to turn 100% of its side-streams into food.»

Karl Locher – Owner of Brauerei Locher (Appenzeller Bier)

«Locally produced food that closes loops will become increasingly important in the future. Sustainable Ingredients' products enable environmentally conscious consumers to eat sustainably and healthily at the same time.»

Dr. Sc. ETH Michel Roux – Expert in Agri-Food Sector

«Health and sustainability don’t have to be mutually exclusive, and Sustainable Ingredients’ powders prove just that. They boost the nutritional values in various food applications while protecting the planet – it’s a win-win situation.»

Prof. Dr. Sc. ETH Nadina Müller – Head of Food Technology Research Group, ZHAW

Do you want to know more -

Contact us!

Consulting

+41 71 780 11 11
info@upgrain.ch
Zielstrasse 1a
CH – 9050 Appenzell

Schweizer Proteine & Ballaststoffe

Nachhaltiges Upcycling -
Die Kraft der Kreislaufwirtschaft

Unsere Mission

Die Rückkehr der Gerste in die Lebensmittelindustrie

Unsere innovative Lösung verwandelt Nebenströme der Brauindustrie in wertvolle Rohstoffe, um die ständig wachsende Nachfrage nach gesunden und nachhaltigen pflanzlichen Alternativen zu decken.

Mit anderen Worten: Wir retten Gerstenkörner aus dem Brauprozess, um Protein- und Faserprodukte für eine Vielzahl von Anwendungen in der Lebensmittelindustrie herzustellen. Dies fördert den Übergang zu einer nachhaltigen und kreislauforientierten Lebensmittelwirtschaft.

Upcycling

Gleichgewicht durch Ressourceneffizienz

Wir bei Sustainable Ingredients streben eine Welt an, in der Lebensmittelverschwendung und Umweltverschmutzung auf ein Minimum reduziert werden. Die innovative Upcycling-Technologie ermöglicht es uns, mit einer um 60% geringeren Umweltbelastung zu produzieren als herkömmliche Alternativen wie Soja- oder Erbsenprotein.

Unser einzigartiges mechanisches Trenn- und Trocknungsverfahren behandelt die Gerste mit höchster Sorgfalt, um alle wertvollen Bestandteile zu extrahieren. Da unser Verfahren schonend, effizient und umweltfreundlich ist, verwandelt es Nebenströme in Produkte mit einem hohen Mehrwert auf einem unvergleichbaren Niveau.

Unsere Produkte

Swiss Made - Swiss Quality

Barley Protein

Proteingehalt von 45% mit einem angenehmen Geschmack.

Barley Fiber

Ballaststoffkonzentration von 70%, hochfunktionell und wasserbindend.

Barley Flour

Protein- und ballaststoffreiches Mehl mit einem Minimum an Kohlenhydraten.

Partner

Durch gemeinsame Werte Grosses bewirken

«Dank der Partnerschaft mit Sustainable Ingredients werden wir die erste Brauerei in Europa oder sogar weltweit sein, die 100 % ihrer Nebenströme zu Lebensmitteln verarbeitet.»

Karl Locher - Inhaber der Brauerei Locher (Appenzeller Bier)

«Lokal erzeugte Lebensmittel, die Kreisläufe schliessen, werden in Zukunft immer wichtiger. Die Produkte von Sustainable Ingredients ermöglichen umweltbewussten Verbrauchern sich nachhaltig und gleichzeitig gesund zu ernähren.»

Dr. Sc. ETH Michel Roux - Experte im Agrar- und Lebensmittelsektor

«Gesundheit und Nachhaltigkeit müssen sich nicht gegenseitig ausschliessen, und die Pulver von Sustainable Ingredients beweisen genau dies. Sie erhöhen den Nährwert in verschiedenen Lebensmittelanwendungen und schonen gleichzeitig den Planeten - eine echte Win-Win-Situation.»

Prof. Dr. Sc. ETH Nadina Müller - Leiterin der Forschungsgruppe Lebensmitteltechnologie, ZHAW

Möchten Sie mehr erfahren -

Kontaktieren Sie uns jetzt!

Beratung

+41 71 780 11 11
info@upgrain.ch
Zielstrasse 1a
CH – 9050 Appenzell